In her Will, Dr Patricia Archer kindly bequeathed a gift of money to the value of £6000 to be used to provide a medal, in her name, as a prize to recognise the best example of medical artwork or 3D piece produced by a member each year for as long as the gift lasts.

Throughout her career she championed the cause to maintain the highest possible professional standards in medical art and instilled this culture to students under her tutelage and members of staff alike. Maintaining an appreciation of these aims will be a fitting legacy.

As the Association now tends to hold its 2-day conference every other year, and it is only then practical to organise an exhibition of members’ work, Council has decided to award the Medal biannually.

The selection panel are: Chairman of the Association, Chairman of the Examining Board and Director of the Medical Artists’ Education Trust.

2019 Winner – Ruth Eaves

2015 Winner – Debbie Maizels

2012 Winner – Matt Briggs